Your’s Truly 

Did you internally cringe by just reading that? Or did you do a full-blown ugly visible cringe? 
Either way, if you’re (you + are) a pedantic grammar freak,  even to the slightest degree. . .  The common confusion people make in using YOU’RE and  YOUR will make your blood boil.

But if you still haven’t seen light and are constantly perplexed and get a headache thinking, Do I use your here? Or you’re? 

Fear not because I am here to show you the light at the end of the tunnel. 

Quite simply speaking, you’re is you and are,  and “are”  is contracted here and latched in to “you”. 

A perfect marriage. Sigh. 
” You’re” is generally used to describe a person or a situation. For example,  “You’re ” in deep trouble if you get caught using the wrong you’re/your. 

Your ” on the other hand is used to indicate possession when we are referring to the second person (terms).

For instance, if I wanted to sign off a letter ( on an another note, who even writes letters anymore?!),  you would ideally say, Yours Truly .

Another example could be, “I think that is your book.”

I hope that your eyes have opened to the truth now and you’re quite sure you won’t ever mix the two up!

While we are on the subject of contractions, another cringe worthy mistake my pedantically grammatic soul cannot stand is the befuddlement regarding the usage of “its” and “it’s

Shining the torchlight for your benefit again (I know, my benevolence is truly commendable!)

Its is used to describe the condition of an object or phrase. It is used to conveys possession.

For instance: I can tell you for sure that regarding its  nature, we cannot consider it irrelevant.

Whereas, it’s is again a contraction. The combination of it and is or has. “It’s” is NOT used to denote possession.

For example: It’s my privilege to be your host.

With that I feel I’ve done my good deed of the day, what with studying in a Catholic Institution and all.

So now I’m going to potter off doing my usual mundane activities.

Cheers :”)

Leave a Reply

